Skip to content
A Volkswagen bus raised on a two-post lift in a workshop, a mechanic working beneath it
Buying guideCar Lifts

Best 2-Post Car Lifts for a Home Garage (2026): By Ceiling, Slab and Maker

By Garage Equipment ReviewPublished 11 min readHow we research

Affiliate disclosure: product links on this page go to Amazon, or to the maker's own store for brands that sell only direct. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you; a link to a maker's store earns us nothing. No retailer or brand sees our picks before they are published or has any say in them. How we choose.

A two-post lift is the one that lets you stand under the car with the wheels off, and it is the one with the most requirements: a ceiling taller than its columns, a slab that will hold its anchors (BendPak's 10AP manual: steel-reinforced, 4.25 inches, 3,000 PSI, cured 28 days; Atlas, per its dealer: 4 inches at 3,000 PSI), a 208 to 240 V circuit by a licensed electrician, and a crew to raise 1,700 pounds of steel. Every pick below shows its overall height, rise, minimum pad height, power and concrete statement and what its maker says about ALI certification, and is placed against a 10, 11 and 12-foot ceiling. The BendPak 10AP ($6,095) is the pick because it is the one whose maker names ALI certification on the product page and publishes a 120-page manual; the BendPak 9APF ($6,295) is the full-size two-post for a 10-foot-6 ceiling; the Atlas 9KOHX ($2,599 at a dealer, $2,899 on Amazon) is the price leader; the Atlas 9KBPX ($2,799) is the baseplate lift for a 9-foot-6 ceiling by its listing; the Atlas PVL10 Platinum ($5,449) is the Atlas whose listing states ALI certification; and the WEIZE, KATOOL and ME lifts at $1,989 to $2,348 are the Amazon imports with full listings and no certification claim.

Our top picks at a glance

  1. 1. Best overall

    BendPak 10AP Two-Post Lift, 10,000 lb, clear floor (145 in overall, 69 in rise)

    Capacity and rise: 10,000 lb (2,500 per arm); rise 69 in, max lifting height with pad 82.5 in (BendPak) · Overall height: 145 in; overhead shutoff bar at 139.5 in; width 135 to 145 in; drive-thru 92 to 102 in (BendPak) · Concrete and power: Steel-reinforced, 4.25 in, 3,000 PSI, 28 days (manual); 5 HP, 208 to 230 V, 1 Ph (page); manual lists 3 HP, about 11 A typical

  2. 2. Best for a 10-foot-6 ceiling

    BendPak 9APF Low-Ceiling Floorplate Two-Post Lift, 9,000 lb (123 in overall)

    Capacity and rise: 9,000 lb (2,250 per arm); rise 70 in, max lifting height with pad 73.5 in (BendPak) · Overall height: 123 in; width 136 to 146 in (BendPak) · Concrete and power: BendPak concrete page applies; 5 HP, 208 to 230 V, 60 Hz, 1 Ph (page)

  3. 3. Best price for a full-size overhead lift

    Atlas 9KOHX 9,000 lb Overhead Two-Post Lift (138 or 142 in)

    Capacity and rise: 9,000 lb; max rise 74 in without adapters, 81 with (dealer listing) · Overall height: 138 or 142 in (two column settings); width 134.5 in; inside columns 110 in; drive-thru 100 symmetric, 90 asymmetric (dealer) · Concrete and power: Minimum 4 in of 3,000 PSI concrete; 220 V single phase, 30 A breaker recommended (dealer wording)

  4. 4. Best for a 9-foot-6 ceiling

    Atlas 9KBPX 9,000 lb Baseplate Two-Post Lift (9 ft 6 in minimum ceiling)

    Capacity and rise: 9,000 lb (per the Amazon listing); rise not stated in the listing · Overall height: Listing states a 9 ft 6 in minimum ceiling height; column height not stated · Concrete and power: Not stated in the listing; Atlas's 4 in, 3,000 PSI requirement applies per its dealer

  5. 5. The Atlas whose listing states ALI certification

    Atlas PVL10 Platinum 10,000 lb Overhead Two-Post Lift (12 ft 6 in minimum ceiling)

    Capacity and rise: 10,000 lb (per the Amazon listing); rise not stated in the listing · Overall height: Listing states a 12 ft 6 in minimum ceiling height · Concrete and power: Not stated in the listing; Atlas's dealer requirement of 4 in at 3,000 PSI applies

  6. 6. Best Amazon import with full dimensions

    WEIZE 11,000 lb Two-Post Car Lift, 220 V 3 HP

    Capacity and rise: 11,000 lb; max lifting height 70.87 in (per the Amazon listing) · Overall height: 109 in overall height; drive-through 110.23 in; 137 in long, 20 in wide (per the Amazon listing) · Concrete and power: 220 V, 60 Hz, 1 Ph, 3 HP (listing); concrete not stated

  7. 7. Highest capacity under $2,200

    KATOOL 12,000 lb Two-Post Lift, 4 HP 220 V, single-point lock release

    Capacity and rise: 12,000 lb; max lifting height 70.86 in; minimum height 4.25 in (per the Amazon listing) · Overall height: Not stated in the listing (the 167 in extra-height version is a separate listing) · Concrete and power: 220 V, 60 Hz, 1 Ph, 4 HP (listing); concrete not stated

  8. 8. Cheapest two-post with stated heights

    ME 11,000 lb Double S Two-Post Lift

    Capacity and rise: 11,000 lb; max lifting height 70.75 in; minimum 4.25 in (per the Amazon listing) · Overall height: Not stated in the listing · Concrete and power: Not stated in the listing

1

Best overall

BendPak 10AP Two-Post Lift, 10,000 lb, clear floor (145 in overall, 69 in rise)

10,000 lb, 69 in rise (82.5 max with pad), 145 in overall, 4 in minimum pad, 5 HP 208 to 230 V, ALI certification named on the page and a published manual; $6,095 plus freight and installation.

Capacity and rise
10,000 lb (2,500 per arm); rise 69 in, max lifting height with pad 82.5 in (BendPak)
Overall height
145 in; overhead shutoff bar at 139.5 in; width 135 to 145 in; drive-thru 92 to 102 in (BendPak)
Concrete and power
Steel-reinforced, 4.25 in, 3,000 PSI, 28 days (manual); 5 HP, 208 to 230 V, 1 Ph (page); manual lists 3 HP, about 11 A typical
ALI
Description names ALI certification; listed in ALI's directory (10AP, certification date Oct 27, 2022)

Pros

  • The one two-post here whose maker names ALI certification on its page
  • Full spec table and a 120-page installation manual online
  • Bi-metric arms, screw pads, 45-second lift (BendPak)

Cons

  • 145 in columns: a 12-foot ceiling, with the door track and opener checked
  • $6,095 before freight (1,768 lb, forklift required per the Amazon listing) and installation
  • Needs the slab the manual describes, test drilled

BendPak lists the 10AP at 10,000 pounds with 2,500 per arm, a 69-inch rise and an 82.5-inch maximum lifting height with pad, a 4-inch minimum pad height, 145 inches overall with the shutoff bar at 139.5, 135 to 145 inches of width, 92 to 102 inches of drive-through, front arm reach 24.5 to 50 inches and rear 32 to 59.25, a 5 HP 208 to 230 V single-phase unit on the page (the manual's typical figure is 3 HP and about 11 amps), a 45-second lift and 1,768 pounds shipping weight, at $6,095. Its manual is the source for every concrete, anchor and electrical rule in our ceiling and concrete guide. Amazon carries it at the same price with a forklift required for delivery. BendPak sells it in 168-inch and 181-inch extended-height versions for taller vehicles and the 10AP-SRT short-rise floorplate for lower ceilings. Skip it if the ceiling is under 12 feet at the door track, or if the slab has not been drilled.

2

Best for a 10-foot-6 ceiling

BendPak 9APF Low-Ceiling Floorplate Two-Post Lift, 9,000 lb (123 in overall)

BendPak's low-ceiling floorplate two-post: 9,000 lb, 70 in rise, 123 in overall, 4.5 in minimum pad, 5 HP 208 to 230 V, $6,295.

Capacity and rise
9,000 lb (2,250 per arm); rise 70 in, max lifting height with pad 73.5 in (BendPak)
Overall height
123 in; width 136 to 146 in (BendPak)
Concrete and power
BendPak concrete page applies; 5 HP, 208 to 230 V, 60 Hz, 1 Ph (page)
ALI
Not stated on the page; no 9APF in ALI's directory

Pros

  • 22 inches shorter than the 10AP, with the same rise
  • Floorplate design keeps the hydraulics on the floor, no overhead beam
  • BendPak's spec sheet and manuals

Cons

  • The floor plate between the columns is a trip strip and a jack obstacle
  • Certification not stated
  • $200 more than the 10AP

BendPak lists the 9APF at 9,000 pounds with 2,250 per arm, a 70-inch rise and 73.5-inch maximum lifting height with pad, a 4.5-inch minimum pad, 123 inches overall, 136 to 146 inches wide, a 5 HP 208 to 230 V single-phase unit, at $6,295. It exists for the garage whose ceiling clears 123 inches at the door track but not 145; a 10-foot-6 ceiling is 126 inches. The floorplate design puts the equalizer cables and hydraulic line in a plate across the floor, which is what a transmission jack rolls over. Skip it if you have the 12-foot ceiling, because the 10AP's clear floor costs $200 less.

3

Best price for a full-size overhead lift

Atlas 9KOHX 9,000 lb Overhead Two-Post Lift (138 or 142 in)

Atlas's 9,000 lb overhead two-post at 138 or 142 in, 74 in rise (81 with adapters), 4 in minimum arm height, 220 V single phase, 4 in 3,000 PSI concrete, 2-year structural warranty; $2,599 at a dealer, $2,899 on Amazon.

Capacity and rise
9,000 lb; max rise 74 in without adapters, 81 with (dealer listing)
Overall height
138 or 142 in (two column settings); width 134.5 in; inside columns 110 in; drive-thru 100 symmetric, 90 asymmetric (dealer)
Concrete and power
Minimum 4 in of 3,000 PSI concrete; 220 V single phase, 30 A breaker recommended (dealer wording)
ALI
Dealer: no third-party lift safety listing is claimed; not in ALI's directory

Pros

  • Less than half the BendPak's price
  • Two column heights, symmetric or asymmetric arms
  • Automatic secondary lock system on chain slack (Amazon listing)

Cons

  • No certification claimed
  • Figures reach buyers through dealers; Atlas's own site refused our request
  • Dealer lists the warranty as 2 years structural, 1 year hydraulic, parts only

The Amazon listing (Atlas Automotive Equipment 9KOHX, $2,899) gives 9,000 pounds, a clear-floor overhead design, dual-point lock release, 11-foot-6 or 11-foot-10 height settings, symmetric and asymmetric arms and an automatic secondary lock system; the dealer listing we read adds 74 inches of rise (81 with adapters), 4 inches minimum arm height, 134.5 inches of width, 110 between columns, 100 or 90 inches of drive-through, 220 V single phase with a 30 A breaker recommended, 4 inches of 3,000 PSI concrete, 3 to 5 gallons of AW32 or AW46 oil not included, a 2-year structural and 1-year hydraulic parts-only warranty, and the statement that no third-party safety listing is claimed, at $2,599. The dealer also notes a conflict in its own figures on asymmetric drive-through (90 or 90.5 inches). Skip it if a stated certification matters to you or to your building department.

4

Best for a 9-foot-6 ceiling

Atlas 9KBPX 9,000 lb Baseplate Two-Post Lift (9 ft 6 in minimum ceiling)

Atlas's open-top baseplate 9,000 lb lift with a 9-foot-6 minimum ceiling by its listing, symmetric arms, secondary lock system and an 8-piece truck adapter set, $2,799.

Capacity and rise
9,000 lb (per the Amazon listing); rise not stated in the listing
Overall height
Listing states a 9 ft 6 in minimum ceiling height; column height not stated
Concrete and power
Not stated in the listing; Atlas's 4 in, 3,000 PSI requirement applies per its dealer
ALI
Not stated; not in ALI's directory

Pros

  • The lowest minimum ceiling of any full-size two-post here
  • Spring-loaded secondary lock system (listing)
  • Truck adapter set included

Cons

  • Open-top baseplate: the hydraulic line crosses the floor
  • Rise and column height not in the listing; get the spec sheet from the seller
  • No certification stated

The Amazon listing gives the 9KBPX as a 9,000-pound open-top baseplate two-post for ceilings as low as 9 feet 6 inches, with symmetric arms and automatic arm restraints, a spring-loaded secondary lock system that engages if a chain slackens or breaks, and a free 8-piece truck adapter set, at $2,799. The listing does not state the rise or the column height, which are the figures the calculator needs; ask the seller for the sheet before ordering. Skip it if your ceiling clears the 9KOHX, because the overhead design's clear floor is worth the $100.

5

The Atlas whose listing states ALI certification

Atlas PVL10 Platinum 10,000 lb Overhead Two-Post Lift (12 ft 6 in minimum ceiling)

Atlas's Platinum PVL10: 10,000 lb overhead two-post, 12-foot-6 minimum ceiling by its listing, Double S columns, an ALLY AL2850 power unit, with ALI certification stated in the listing, $5,449.

Capacity and rise
10,000 lb (per the Amazon listing); rise not stated in the listing
Overall height
Listing states a 12 ft 6 in minimum ceiling height
Concrete and power
Not stated in the listing; Atlas's dealer requirement of 4 in at 3,000 PSI applies
ALI
Listing states it; ALI's directory lists it as ATEAP-PVL10 (certification date May 6, 2021)

Pros

  • A certification statement, which the other Atlas listings do not make
  • Three-stage front arms, double screw adapters, 8-piece adapter set (listing)
  • Symmetric or asymmetric installation

Cons

  • 12-foot-6 minimum ceiling
  • $5,449 is close to BendPak money
  • Rise, column height and power unit figures not in the listing

The Amazon listing gives the PVL10 Platinum as a 10,000-pound commercial-grade overhead two-post with a 12-foot-6 minimum ceiling, a patented Double S column design, symmetric or asymmetric installation, an ALLY Hydraulic AL2850 power unit described as certified for electrical compliance, three-stage front arms, double screw adapters with extensions and a free 8-piece truck adapter set, and it states that the lift is ALI certified, at $5,449. That statement is the listing's, and ALI's directory backs it: it lists the lift as ATEAP-PVL10 (and AP-PVL10-2/3), so check that the data plate carries that designation. Skip it if the ceiling is under 12 feet 6 inches.

6

Best Amazon import with full dimensions

WEIZE 11,000 lb Two-Post Car Lift, 220 V 3 HP

WEIZE's 11,000 lb two-post: 70.87 in max lifting height, 110.23 in drive-through, 137 by 20 by 109 in overall by its listing, 220 V 3 HP, double-point lock release, $2,200.

Capacity and rise
11,000 lb; max lifting height 70.87 in (per the Amazon listing)
Overall height
109 in overall height; drive-through 110.23 in; 137 in long, 20 in wide (per the Amazon listing)
Concrete and power
220 V, 60 Hz, 1 Ph, 3 HP (listing); concrete not stated
ALI
Not stated; brand not in ALI's directory

Pros

  • The listing prints overall height and drive-through
  • 109 in overall fits a 10-foot ceiling if the figure is right
  • Double-point lock release

Cons

  • Concrete requirement not stated; the manual is the only source
  • No certification stated
  • Buyer unloads the freight (listing)

WEIZE's listing gives 11,000 pounds, a 220 V 60 Hz single-phase 3 HP power unit, a 70.87-inch maximum lifting height, a 110.23-inch drive-through width, overall dimensions of 137 by 20 by 109 inches and a double-point safety lock release, at $2,199.99. If the 109-inch overall height is the column height it is the shortest full-size two-post here; the listing does not say what the figure measures, so ask before counting on it. No concrete requirement is stated; our concrete guide has the figures the named makers require.

7

Highest capacity under $2,200

KATOOL 12,000 lb Two-Post Lift, 4 HP 220 V, single-point lock release

KATOOL's 12,000 lb two-post with a 4 HP 220 V unit, 70.86 in max lifting height, 4.25 in minimum height and single-point lock release, $2,128.

Capacity and rise
12,000 lb; max lifting height 70.86 in; minimum height 4.25 in (per the Amazon listing)
Overall height
Not stated in the listing (the 167 in extra-height version is a separate listing)
Concrete and power
220 V, 60 Hz, 1 Ph, 4 HP (listing); concrete not stated
ALI
Not stated; the listing claims CE approval, a European marking; brand not in ALI's directory

Pros

  • 12,000 lb for the money
  • Single-point lock release
  • Rubber door guards, screw-on pads and adapters included (listing)

Cons

  • Column height not in the listing
  • CE is not ALI certification
  • Forklift unloading is the buyer's job (listing)

KATOOL's listing gives 12,000 pounds, a 4 HP 220 V 60 Hz single-phase unit, a 70.86-inch maximum lifting height, a 4.25-inch minimum height, single-point lock release for one-person operation, symmetric arms and a base plate, with rubber pad door protection and screw-on pads and adapters, at $2,128; it describes the lift as CE approved and certified. CE is a European conformity marking and says nothing about ANSI/ALI ALCTV. KATOOL's 167-inch extra-height version ($2,348) is the one for tall vans. Skip either if you cannot get the column height in writing first.

8

Cheapest two-post with stated heights

ME 11,000 lb Double S Two-Post Lift

ME's 11,000 lb symmetric two-post: 70.75 in maximum lifting height, 4.25 in minimum, $1,989.

Capacity and rise
11,000 lb; max lifting height 70.75 in; minimum 4.25 in (per the Amazon listing)
Overall height
Not stated in the listing
Concrete and power
Not stated in the listing
ALI
Not stated; brand not in ALI's directory

Pros

  • $1,989
  • Symmetric (Double S) column and arm placement by the listing
  • 4.25 in minimum height

Cons

  • No column height, power or concrete figure in the listing
  • No certification stated
  • Buyer unloads the freight (listing)

ME's listing gives 11,000 pounds, a symmetric two-post design it calls Double S, a 70.75-inch maximum lifting height and a 4.25-inch minimum lifting height, at $1,989, with the buyer responsible for forklift unloading. It states no power unit figure, no column height and no concrete requirement; everything a lift needs to be planned around is missing from the page. It is here because it is the cheapest two-post with a stated rise; it is last because of what it does not state.

How we chose

Two-post lifts sold to home garages in the US, judged on what their makers or listings state: capacity, rise, overall height, minimum pad height, width and drive-through, concrete and power requirements, ALI certification statement, warranty and price (October 9, 2026). Maker figures come from bendpak.com and the 10AP manual; Atlas figures from its dealer and Amazon listings, because its own site refused our request; the imports from their Amazon listings. We call no lift safe; the ALI page explains the only third-party test.

Every pick against the ceiling

LiftOverall height (in)10 ft (120 in)11 ft (132 in)12 ft (144 in)Rise (in)Price
BendPak 10AP145NoNoNo (needs over 145 at the door track)69 (82.5 with pad)$6,095
BendPak 9APF123NoYesYes70$6,295
Atlas 9KOHX138 or 142NoNoYes at 138 or 14274 (81 with adapters)$2,599 to $2,899
Atlas 9KBPXListing: 9 ft 6 in minimum ceilingYes by the listingYesYesNot stated$2,799
Atlas PVL10Listing: 12 ft 6 in minimum ceilingNoNoNoNot stated$5,449
WEIZE 11,000109 (listing's overall height)Yes if the figure is the columnYesYes70.87$2,200
KATOOL 12,000Not stated (167 in version separate)UnknownUnknownUnknown70.86$2,128
ME 11,000Not statedUnknownUnknownUnknown70.75$1,989

The ceiling figure to compare is the lowest point over the bay, which is usually the door track; the ceiling and concrete guide walks the measurement and the calculator runs the roof check.

What the slab has to be

BendPak's 10AP manual: steel-reinforced concrete, 4.25 inches minimum, 3,000 PSI, cured 28 days, anchors more than 6 inches from cracks, joints and walls; its concrete page adds test drilling, core sampling, no hand-mixed concrete and a concrete specialist. Atlas, per its dealer: 4 inches at 3,000 PSI. The imports state nothing on their listings, and their manuals arrive with the lift. A residential slab is poured at a nominal 4 inches; what yours is, a drill tells you. The installation guide covers the anchors and the crew.

Power

Every two-post here is a 208 to 240 V single-phase machine (the KATOOL 11,000 lists an optional 110 V unit) and every maker's manual we read requires a licensed electrician; the BendPak 10AP manual's typical figure is 3 HP and about 11 amps, the Atlas dealer recommends a 30 A breaker, and the electrical guide lists each statement. Plan the circuit before the lift ships.

Certification

BendPak names ALI certification on the 10AP's page; the Atlas PVL10's Amazon listing states it; the Atlas 9KOHX dealer says none is claimed; every other listing is silent, and two of them cite CE, which is a European marking and not the ANSI/ALI ALCTV test. ALI's directory, searched October 12, 2026, matches the statements: it lists the 10AP and the PVL10 (as ATEAP-PVL10) and none of the other six, and our lift checker runs the same search on any model. ALI's directory is the check for any model, and a building department that requires a certified lift will ask for it.

What to skip

Skip any lift you cannot get the column height, the concrete requirement and the power unit figures for in writing before ordering. Skip a two-post for a ceiling under 10 feet, where the MaxJax M7K at 89.5 inches is the two-post that fits. Skip reading CE as certification. And skip the forklift problem until you have solved it: every import listing makes unloading the buyer's job.

Frequently asked questions

What ceiling height do I need for a 2-post lift?

More than the lift's overall height at the lowest point over the bay: BendPak 10AP 145 inches, 9APF 123, Atlas 9KOHX 138 or 142, and the imports' listings give 109 inches (WEIZE) or nothing. Then the roof has to clear at full rise, which the calculator checks.

Which 2-post lift is ALI certified?

Two of these eight: ALI's directory lists the BendPak 10AP and the Atlas PVL10 Platinum (as ATEAP-PVL10), the two whose maker or listing states it. The 9APF, 9KOHX, 9KBPX, WEIZE, KATOOL and ME are not in the directory (searched October 12, 2026), and CE marking is not ALI.

How thick does the concrete need to be?

BendPak 10AP manual: steel-reinforced, 4.25 inches, 3,000 PSI, cured 28 days. Atlas, per its dealer: 4 inches at 3,000 PSI. The import listings state nothing. BendPak says to test drill an existing floor.

What is the cheapest 2-post lift?

ME's 11,000 lb lift at $1,989 on Amazon, with a stated 70.75-inch lifting height and nothing else stated. The Atlas 9KOHX at $2,599 from a dealer is the cheapest with a full spec sheet.

Can I run a 2-post lift on 110 volts?

The lifts here are 208 to 240 V single phase; KATOOL lists an optional 110 V unit on its 11,000 lb lift. Every manual we read requires a licensed electrician either way.

Does a 2-post lift need professional installation?

BendPak's 10AP manual is written for an installer, requires a licensed electrician, and its delivery checklist assumes a crew; the lift ships at 1,768 pounds and needs a forklift. The import listings make unloading the buyer's job.

Sources

  1. BendPak 10AP Two-Post Lift (product page), BendPak
  2. BendPak 10AP Installation and Operation Manual, BendPak
  3. BendPak 9APF Low-Ceiling Floorplate Two-Post Lift (product page), BendPak
  4. Concrete Floor Requirements, BendPak
  5. Atlas 9KOHX 9,000 lb Overhead 2-Post Lift (dealer listing), Mechanic Superstore
  6. Lift Certification FAQ, Automotive Lift Institute
  7. ALI Directory of Certified Lifts, Automotive Lift Institute

Cover photo: Hebebühne der Fa. Auto-TITAN Oranienburg mit Volkswagen T2 2008 by Bukk, Public Domain Mark, via Wikimedia Commons. Cropped.

Share this article