
Best Scissor Lifts for a Home Garage (2026): Mid-Rise and Full-Rise, by Release
Affiliate disclosure: product links on this page go to Amazon, or to the maker's own store for brands that sell only direct. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you; a link to a maker's store earns us nothing. No retailer or brand sees our picks before they are published or has any say in them. How we choose.
A mid-rise scissor lift is the portable lift that gets a car four feet up: no columns, no anchors on the mobile versions, a 110 V motor on most, and 39 to 47 inches of rise under the sills, which is a stool's height for brakes, suspension, exhaust and wheels. The BendPak MD-6XP (6,000 lb, 47 in, $3,595 at dealers) is the pick for a maker's sales sheet and a dealer network, with the one caveat that its pneumatic lock release needs shop air; the KATOOL 8,000 lb 110 V electric-release ($2,469, 41.25 in) is the Amazon lift that needs no compressor; the KATOOL 7,000 lb ($1,898, 39 in) is the cheapest; the KT-X77 ($1,899, 39.37 in, manual release) and KT-X85 ($2,399, 8,000 lb, electric release) are the dealer-listed KATOOL models; the AK-X85 ($2,499, 40.15 in) and X90 ($2,913, 47.2 in) are the 8,000-pound mobile-or-fixed lifts; and the KT-X99 ($4,499) is the 76-inch full-rise scissor that stands you up on 220 V. Every pick gives rise, minimum height, release, power and mounting and says who should skip it.
Our top picks at a glance
1. Best overall
BendPak MD-6XP Portable Mid-Rise Frame Lift, 6,000 lb (47 in lift)Capacity and rise: 6,000 lb; lift height 47 in without adapters (BendPak sales sheet) · Minimum height and release: Lowered 4.75 in; pneumatic safety-lock release (dealers quote BendPak's 50 PSI, 10 CFM minimum air) · Power and mounting: 110 VAC, 50 to 60 Hz, 1 Ph (sales sheet); portable with caster kit
2. Best electric release
KATOOL 8,000 lb Mid-Rise Scissor Lift, 110 V electric release, 41.25 inCapacity and rise: 8,000 lb; max 41.25 in (per the Amazon listing) · Minimum height and release: 4.25 in; electric safety release, no compressor (per the Amazon listing) · Power and mounting: 110 V; mobile or fixed (per the Amazon listing)
3. Best under $2,000
KATOOL 7,000 lb Portable Mid-Rise Scissor Lift, 39 inCapacity and rise: 7,000 lb; max 39 in (per the Amazon listing) · Minimum height and release: 4.3 in; release type not stated in the bullets · Power and mounting: Not stated in the bullets
4. Best manual-release 110 V lift
KT-X77 7,000 lb Mid-Rise Scissor Lift, 110 V, manual release, 39.37 inCapacity and rise: 7,000 lb; 39.37 in max (per the Amazon listing) · Minimum height and release: 4.33 in; manual release (per the Amazon listing) · Power and mounting: 110 V 60 Hz 1 Ph, aluminium motor with fan; mobile kit included (per the Amazon listing)
5. Best 8,000 lb with electric release
KT-X85 8,000 lb Mid-Rise Scissor Lift, electric release, 110 or 220 VCapacity and rise: 8,000 lb; rise not stated in the bullets (the AK-X85 lists 40.15 in) · Minimum height and release: Electric safety release; minimum not stated in the bullets · Power and mounting: 110 V or 220 V 1 Ph; mobile or fixed (per the Amazon listing)
6. Highest mid-rise lift
KT-X90 8,000 lb Mid-Rise Scissor Lift, 110 V, electric release, 47.2 inCapacity and rise: 8,000 lb; max 47.2 in (per the Amazon listing) · Minimum height and release: 4.3 in; electric release (per the Amazon listing) · Power and mounting: 110 V; portable (per the Amazon listing)
7. Best full-rise scissor
KT-X99 Full-Rise Scissor Lift, 7,700 lb, 76 in, 220 VCapacity and rise: 7,700 lb; 76 in max (per the Amazon listing) · Minimum height and release: Minimum not stated in the bullets; electric release (per the Amazon listing) · Power and mounting: 220 V; compact footprint (per the Amazon listing); fixed installation implied
| Pick | Capacity and rise | Minimum height and release | Power and mounting | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| BendPak MD-6XP Portable Mid-Rise Frame Lift, 6,000 lb (47 in lift)Best overall | 6,000 lb; lift height 47 in without adapters (BendPak sales sheet) | Lowered 4.75 in; pneumatic safety-lock release (dealers quote BendPak's 50 PSI, 10 CFM minimum air) | 110 VAC, 50 to 60 Hz, 1 Ph (sales sheet); portable with caster kit | BendPak |
| KATOOL 8,000 lb Mid-Rise Scissor Lift, 110 V electric release, 41.25 inBest electric release | 8,000 lb; max 41.25 in (per the Amazon listing) | 4.25 in; electric safety release, no compressor (per the Amazon listing) | 110 V; mobile or fixed (per the Amazon listing) | Amazon |
| KATOOL 7,000 lb Portable Mid-Rise Scissor Lift, 39 inBest under $2,000 | 7,000 lb; max 39 in (per the Amazon listing) | 4.3 in; release type not stated in the bullets | Not stated in the bullets | Amazon |
| KT-X77 7,000 lb Mid-Rise Scissor Lift, 110 V, manual release, 39.37 inBest manual-release 110 V lift | 7,000 lb; 39.37 in max (per the Amazon listing) | 4.33 in; manual release (per the Amazon listing) | 110 V 60 Hz 1 Ph, aluminium motor with fan; mobile kit included (per the Amazon listing) | Amazon |
| KT-X85 8,000 lb Mid-Rise Scissor Lift, electric release, 110 or 220 VBest 8,000 lb with electric release | 8,000 lb; rise not stated in the bullets (the AK-X85 lists 40.15 in) | Electric safety release; minimum not stated in the bullets | 110 V or 220 V 1 Ph; mobile or fixed (per the Amazon listing) | Amazon |
| KT-X90 8,000 lb Mid-Rise Scissor Lift, 110 V, electric release, 47.2 inHighest mid-rise lift | 8,000 lb; max 47.2 in (per the Amazon listing) | 4.3 in; electric release (per the Amazon listing) | 110 V; portable (per the Amazon listing) | Amazon |
| KT-X99 Full-Rise Scissor Lift, 7,700 lb, 76 in, 220 VBest full-rise scissor | 7,700 lb; 76 in max (per the Amazon listing) | Minimum not stated in the bullets; electric release (per the Amazon listing) | 220 V; compact footprint (per the Amazon listing); fixed installation implied | Amazon |
Best overall
BendPak MD-6XP Portable Mid-Rise Frame Lift, 6,000 lb (47 in lift)
6,000 lb, 47 in lift without adapters from 4.75 in lowered, 45-second lift, 110 VAC motor, pneumatic lock release on shop air, portable on its caster kit, $3,595 at dealers.
- Capacity and rise
- 6,000 lb; lift height 47 in without adapters (BendPak sales sheet)
- Minimum height and release
- Lowered 4.75 in; pneumatic safety-lock release (dealers quote BendPak's 50 PSI, 10 CFM minimum air)
- Power and mounting
- 110 VAC, 50 to 60 Hz, 1 Ph (sales sheet); portable with caster kit
- Warranty and ALI
- A dealer lists 1 year parts and labour; sales sheet refers to ANSI/ALI ALCTV-2017 and ANSI/UL 201, but no MD-6XP is in ALI's directory
Pros
- Maker's sales sheet, dealer support, BendPak parts
- 47 in from 4.75 in
- 852 lb shipping, rolls on casters
Cons
- Needs a compressor for the release
- $3,595, the most here
- Sales sheet's shipping weight (852 lb) and a dealer's (962) disagree
BendPak's sales sheet lists the MD-6XP at 6,000 pounds, 47 inches of lift without adapters, 4.75 inches lowered, a 45-second lift and a 110 VAC single-phase motor, with 852 pounds shipping; dealers list it at $3,595 and quote BendPak's requirement of a 50 PSI, 10 CFM air supply for the pneumatic lock release. The electrical guide covers the circuit and the compressor. Skip it if you have no compressor; the KATOOL electric-release lifts exist for that garage.
Best electric release
KATOOL 8,000 lb Mid-Rise Scissor Lift, 110 V electric release, 41.25 in
KATOOL's 8,000 lb mid-rise with a 110 V electric safety release, 4.25 to 41.25 in, mobile or fixed mounting, $2,469.
- Capacity and rise
- 8,000 lb; max 41.25 in (per the Amazon listing)
- Minimum height and release
- 4.25 in; electric safety release, no compressor (per the Amazon listing)
- Power and mounting
- 110 V; mobile or fixed (per the Amazon listing)
- Warranty and ALI
- CE claimed (listing); brand not in ALI's directory
Pros
- No compressor
- 8,000 lb
- Mobile or bolted
Cons
- Ships in 6 to 7 days
- CE is not ALI
- Listing figures only
KATOOL's listing: 8,000 pounds, 110 V electric power with an electric safety release that eliminates the need for a compressor, a 4.25 to 41.25-inch range, a dual-mount design for mobile or fixed installation, and CE certification, at $2,469. Skip it if 41 inches is not enough; the X90 reaches 47.
Best under $2,000
KATOOL 7,000 lb Portable Mid-Rise Scissor Lift, 39 in
KATOOL's 7,000 lb mid-rise at 39 in maximum and 4.3 in minimum, $1,898.
- Capacity and rise
- 7,000 lb; max 39 in (per the Amazon listing)
- Minimum height and release
- 4.3 in; release type not stated in the bullets
- Power and mounting
- Not stated in the bullets
- Warranty and ALI
- Not stated; brand not in ALI's directory
Pros
- $1,898
- 4.3 in minimum
- Scissor stability
Cons
- Release and power not in the bullets
- 39 in
- 6 to 7 day ship
KATOOL's listing: 7,000 pounds, 39 inches maximum, 4.3 inches minimum, fully adjustable height, at $1,898; the bullets do not say whether the release is manual or electric or what the motor needs. Skip it unless the seller answers those two questions.
Best manual-release 110 V lift
KT-X77 7,000 lb Mid-Rise Scissor Lift, 110 V, manual release, 39.37 in
The KT-X77: 7,000 lb, 39.37 in from 4.33 in, manual release, 110 V motor with a cooling fan, drive-up ramps that lock as platform extensions, mobile kit included, $1,899.
- Capacity and rise
- 7,000 lb; 39.37 in max (per the Amazon listing)
- Minimum height and release
- 4.33 in; manual release (per the Amazon listing)
- Power and mounting
- 110 V 60 Hz 1 Ph, aluminium motor with fan; mobile kit included (per the Amazon listing)
- Warranty and ALI
- Not stated; brand not in ALI's directory
Pros
- Ramps lock as extensions for long cars (listing)
- Mobile kit included
- Assist arm for low cars (listing)
Cons
- Manual release: walk round to release each side
- Listing figures only
- No certification stated
The listing: KT-X77 electric mid-rise, 7,000 pounds, manual release, 39.37 inches maximum and 4.33 minimum, an assist arm for low and stiff cars, drive-up ramps that lock as platform extensions for long vehicles, a mobile kit, and a 110 V single-phase aluminium motor with a cooling fan, at $1,899. Skip it if you want one-side release.
Best 8,000 lb with electric release
KT-X85 8,000 lb Mid-Rise Scissor Lift, electric release, 110 or 220 V
The KT-X85: 8,000 lb, electric safety release, mobile or fixed, 110 or 220 V, CE-tested to 115 percent dynamic and 150 percent static by its listing, $2,399.
- Capacity and rise
- 8,000 lb; rise not stated in the bullets (the AK-X85 lists 40.15 in)
- Minimum height and release
- Electric safety release; minimum not stated in the bullets
- Power and mounting
- 110 V or 220 V 1 Ph; mobile or fixed (per the Amazon listing)
- Warranty and ALI
- CE claimed; brand not in ALI's directory
Pros
- Electric release
- Dual voltage
- Ships in 4 to 5 days
Cons
- Rise not in the bullets
- CE is not ALI
- Listing figures only
The listing: KT-X85, 8,000 pounds, CE approved with 115 percent dynamic and 150 percent static load testing, mobile or fixed mount, a starting-up system and electric safety release, in 110 V or 220 V, at $2,399. The AK-X85 110 V ($2,499) lists 40.15 inches maximum and 4.25 minimum, self-lubricated bushings and bearings and the same drive-up ramp extensions. Skip both until the seller confirms the rise and minimum height in writing.
Highest mid-rise lift
KT-X90 8,000 lb Mid-Rise Scissor Lift, 110 V, electric release, 47.2 in
The KT-X90: 8,000 lb, 47.2 in from 4.3 in, 110 V, electric release, $2,913.
- Capacity and rise
- 8,000 lb; max 47.2 in (per the Amazon listing)
- Minimum height and release
- 4.3 in; electric release (per the Amazon listing)
- Power and mounting
- 110 V; portable (per the Amazon listing)
- Warranty and ALI
- Not stated; brand not in ALI's directory
Pros
- 47.2 in, the same as the MD-6XP, with no compressor
- 8,000 lb
- 4.3 in minimum
Cons
- 2 to 3 week ship
- $2,913
- No certification stated
The listing: KT-X90 electric mid-rise, 8,000 pounds, 47.2 inches maximum and 4.3 minimum, electric release, 110 V, for SUVs and small trucks as well as low cars, at $2,912.95 with a 2 to 3 week ship. Skip it if you need it this week.
Best full-rise scissor
KT-X99 Full-Rise Scissor Lift, 7,700 lb, 76 in, 220 V
The KT-X99: 7,700 lb, 76 in of rise, 220 V, electric release, $4,499, the scissor that stands you up.
- Capacity and rise
- 7,700 lb; 76 in max (per the Amazon listing)
- Minimum height and release
- Minimum not stated in the bullets; electric release (per the Amazon listing)
- Power and mounting
- 220 V; compact footprint (per the Amazon listing); fixed installation implied
- Warranty and ALI
- Not stated; brand not in ALI's directory
Pros
- Standing height without columns
- 7,700 lb
- Compact footprint for a bay
Cons
- 220 V circuit and an electrician
- A full-rise scissor is anchored and needs the slab a two-post needs; the listing states no requirement
- $4,499, two-post money
The listing: KT-X99 full-rise scissor, 7,700 pounds, 76 inches of lift, 220 V, electric release, heavy-gauge steel, a compact footprint, at $4,499 with a 6 to 7 day ship. The ceiling arithmetic is a two-post's (the calculator) and so is the slab, which the listing does not state. Skip it if the Atlas 9KOHX fits your ceiling, because it costs $2,599 and lifts the same car.
How we chose
Scissor lifts sold to home garages in the US, judged on capacity, rise, minimum height, release type, power, mobile or fixed mounting, certification statement and price (October 9, 2026). BendPak's figures from its sales sheet and dealers; the rest from Amazon listings, which name KATOOL or the KT and AK model codes.
Every pick in one table
| Lift | Capacity | Rise (in) | Minimum (in) | Release | Power | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BendPak MD-6XP | 6,000 | 47 | 4.75 | Pneumatic (shop air) | 110 V | $3,595 |
| KATOOL 8,000 110 V | 8,000 | 41.25 | 4.25 | Electric | 110 V | $2,469 |
| KATOOL 7,000 | 7,000 | 39 | 4.3 | Not stated | Not stated | $1,898 |
| KT-X77 | 7,000 | 39.37 | 4.33 | Manual | 110 V | $1,899 |
| KT-X85 | 8,000 | Not stated (AK-X85: 40.15) | Not stated (AK-X85: 4.25) | Electric | 110 or 220 V | $2,399 |
| X90 | 8,000 | 47.2 | 4.3 | Electric | 110 V | $2,913 |
| KT-X99 full-rise | 7,700 | 76 | Not stated | Electric | 220 V | $4,499 |
Release types
A scissor lift's mechanical locks hold the car; something has to release them to lower it. Pneumatic release (MD-6XP) uses shop air, which means a compressor sized to BendPak's 50 PSI and 10 CFM figure as dealers quote it. Electric release (the KATOOL 110 V, X85, X90, X99) uses a solenoid and nothing else. Manual release (KT-X77) means a lever at each side. For a garage without a compressor the electric-release lifts are the whole list.
Mobile or fixed
The mid-rise lifts roll on caster kits and need no anchors; the X85 and X90 can also be bolted. The full-rise KT-X99 is a fixed installation and carries the slab questions of a two-post, which its listing does not answer: the concrete guide has what the named makers require. Floors for the mobile lifts: flat and level, the same as the portable lifts.
What a mid-rise lift is for
Four feet of rise is a stool: wheels, brakes, suspension, exhaust and underbody with the sills on the pads and the centre open. It is not an engine-out lift and the scissor sits under the middle of the car where a transmission comes down. Low cars need the 4.25 to 4.75-inch minimum heights here and an assist arm (KT-X77) or ramps to get the pads under the sills.
What to skip
Skip a pneumatic-release lift without a compressor. Skip any lift whose rise and minimum height the seller will not put in writing. Skip reading CE as ALI certification; no scissor lift here states ALI certification in its text, and none is in ALI's directory, the BendPak MD-6XP included. And skip the full-rise scissor if a two-post fits, because the two-post costs less and leaves the centre of the car clear.
Frequently asked questions
How high does a mid-rise scissor lift go?
39 to 47 inches on the lifts here: KATOOL 7,000 lb 39, KT-X77 39.37, KATOOL 8,000 lb 41.25, BendPak MD-6XP 47, X90 47.2. The KT-X99 full-rise scissor lifts 76 inches.
Does a scissor lift need an air compressor?
The BendPak MD-6XP's pneumatic lock release does; dealers quote BendPak's 50 PSI, 10 CFM requirement. The KATOOL 110 V, X85, X90 and X99 use electric release and need none; the KT-X77 is manual.
Does a scissor lift need to be bolted down?
The mid-rise lifts here roll on caster kits and need no anchors (the X85 and X90 can be fixed). The KT-X99 full-rise is a fixed installation and carries a two-post's slab questions, which its listing does not answer.
Can a scissor lift fit under a low car?
The minimum heights here are 4.25 to 4.75 inches; the KT-X77 adds an assist arm for low and stiff cars and the ramps lock as extensions for long ones.
What power does a scissor lift need?
110 V on the MD-6XP, KATOOL 110 V, KT-X77, AK-X85 and X90; 110 or 220 V on the KT-X85; 220 V on the KT-X99. Every maker's manual we have read requires a licensed electrician.
Which scissor lift is ALI certified?
None of these is in ALI's directory (searched October 12, 2026). BendPak's MD-6XP sales sheet refers to ANSI/ALI ALCTV-2017 and ANSI/UL 201, but the directory has no MD-6XP and no KATOOL model; CE on the KATOOL listings is a European marking.
Sources
- BendPak MD-6XP Portable Mid-Rise Frame Lift sales sheet, BendPak
- BendPak MD-6XP (dealer listing), Mechanic Superstore
- Lift Certification FAQ, Automotive Lift Institute
- Concrete Floor Requirements, BendPak
Cover photo: Taxis on scissor lifts at a mechanic shop in Datong District by Benlisquare, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons. Cropped.
Related guides
2-Post vs 4-Post Car Lift for a Home Garage: Ceiling, Slab, Space and the Work
Two-post and four-post lifts compared on BendPak's and Atlas's published figures: ceiling, slab and anchors, footprint, the work each is for, storage and price.
BendPak vs QuickJack vs MaxJax vs Atlas: Four Lift Makers on What They Publish
Four names on every lift page, compared on published specs, manuals, concrete and power rules, ALI statements, warranty and price. Two of them are the same company.
Best 2-Post Car Lifts for a Home Garage (2026): By Ceiling, Slab and Maker
Eight two-post lifts from $1,989 to $6,295, each with its column height, rise, slab and power requirements and what the maker says about ALI certification.


