Skip to content
A classic pickup parked in a home garage with storage bins on a shelf above it
Buying guideShop Equipment

Best Overhead Garage Storage Lifts and Racks (2026): Crank, Drill and Fixed

By Garage Equipment ReviewPublished 6 min readHow we research

Affiliate disclosure: product links on this page go to Amazon, or to the maker's own store for brands that sell only direct. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you; a link to a maker's store earns us nothing. No retailer or brand sees our picks before they are published or has any say in them. How we choose.

An overhead storage lift is a platform on cables that winds up to the ceiling, by hand crank or a drill, so the seasonal bins and the roof box leave the floor without a ladder; a fixed ceiling rack holds more and never moves. Neither is a vehicle lift, and the standard that governs them is the ceiling's: every listing here mounts into joists, and the joist spacing and the fasteners decide what the platform can hold before the rating does. The FLEXIMOUNTS GL1 ($190) is the pick for a 4 by 4-foot deck on a double-rope lift raised by the included crank or a drill and tested to 600 pounds; the second FLEXIMOUNTS 4x4 lift ($190) is the same system in its other listing; the FERO 4 by 8 lift ($350) is the drill-operated 32-square-foot platform rated 325 pounds with a safety lock; the 4 by 4 lift for 8 to 10-foot ceilings ($190) adds a manual lock; and the FLEXIMOUNTS 4 by 8 fixed rack ($146) is rated 750 pounds and tested to 1,200 by its listing, on brackets that attach to two studs each with joists at 24 inches or less. Every pick gives deck size, rated and tested load, drive, lock and the joist requirement its listing states; the ceiling is yours to verify.

Our top picks at a glance

  1. 1. Best storage lift

    FLEXIMOUNTS GL1 4x4 ft Overhead Garage Lifting Storage Rack

    Deck and load: 4 by 4 ft deck; tested to handle a total of 600 lb (per the Amazon listing); the rated working load is not in the bullets (retailers list 300 lb) · Drive and lock: Hand crank included; power drill not included; double rope; pressure-rivet connections (per the Amazon listing) · Mounting: Ceiling-mounted; joist requirements in the manual (not in the bullets)

  2. 2. Best large lift

    FERO 4x8 ft Overhead Garage Storage Lift with Safety Lock, 325 lb

    Deck and load: 4 by 8 ft, up to 32 sq ft; supports up to 325 lb (per the Amazon listing) · Drive and lock: Drill operation, no ladder; safety lock (per the Amazon listing) · Mounting: Horizontal or vertical beam installation; adjustable platform height (per the Amazon listing)

  3. 3. Best with a manual lock

    4x4 ft Overhead Garage Storage Lift for 8 to 10 ft Ceilings with Manual Lock

    Deck and load: 4 by 4 ft, 16 sq ft (per the Amazon listing); rated load not in the bullets · Drive and lock: Lift system; additional manual lock (per the Amazon listing) · Mounting: Ceilings up to 10 ft (per the Amazon listing)

  4. 4. Best fixed rack

    FLEXIMOUNTS 4x8 ft Overhead Garage Ceiling Storage Rack, 750 lb rated

    Deck and load: 4 by 8 ft; 750 lb rated, 1,200 lb tested (per the Amazon listing) · Drive and lock: Fixed; no lift · Mounting: Long ceiling brackets attached to 2 studs each; 6 vertical posts; fits joist spacing of 24 in or less (per the Amazon listing)

1

Best storage lift

FLEXIMOUNTS GL1 4x4 ft Overhead Garage Lifting Storage Rack

A 4 by 4 ft steel deck raised and lowered by the included hand crank or a power drill, on a double-rope system with riveted connections, tested to a total of 600 lb, $190.

Deck and load
4 by 4 ft deck; tested to handle a total of 600 lb (per the Amazon listing); the rated working load is not in the bullets (retailers list 300 lb)
Drive and lock
Hand crank included; power drill not included; double rope; pressure-rivet connections (per the Amazon listing)
Mounting
Ceiling-mounted; joist requirements in the manual (not in the bullets)
Maker
FLEXIMOUNTS

Pros

  • Crank or drill
  • Two ropes, not one (listing)
  • 16 sq ft without a ladder

Cons

  • Rated load not in the bullets; 600 lb is the test figure
  • Joist spacing not in the bullets
  • The platform travels through the space the car's hood uses

FLEXIMOUNTS' listing: a 4 by 4-foot overhead lifting rack raised and lowered with the included hand crank or a power drill, a double-rope design the listing calls more secure than a single rope, pressure-rivet connections, heavy-duty steel tested to handle a total of 600 pounds, at $189.99; its second 4x4 lift listing ($189.99) describes the same dual-rope, riveted, 600-pound-tested system. A test load is not a rating; the rating is in the manual and retailers quote 300 pounds. Skip it if the manual's joist spacing does not match your ceiling, which is the first page to read.

2

Best large lift

FERO 4x8 ft Overhead Garage Storage Lift with Safety Lock, 325 lb

FERO's 4 by 8 ft H-frame platform, 32 sq ft, drill-operated, rated 325 lb, with a safety lock and horizontal or vertical beam installation, $350.

Deck and load
4 by 8 ft, up to 32 sq ft; supports up to 325 lb (per the Amazon listing)
Drive and lock
Drill operation, no ladder; safety lock (per the Amazon listing)
Mounting
Horizontal or vertical beam installation; adjustable platform height (per the Amazon listing)
Maker
FERO

Pros

  • Twice the deck
  • Rated load stated
  • Beam options

Cons

  • $350
  • 325 lb across 32 sq ft is light bins, not engines
  • Listing figures only

FERO's listing: a 4 by 8-foot garage ceiling storage rack with a classic H-shaped steel frame, a drill-operated lift system that needs no ladder, an adjustable platform height, up to 32 square feet of storage, a 325-pound capacity for bikes, kayaks and toolboxes, and installation on horizontal or vertical beams, at $349.95. Skip it for anything heavier than the rating says; 325 pounds is a kayak and some bins.

3

Best with a manual lock

4x4 ft Overhead Garage Storage Lift for 8 to 10 ft Ceilings with Manual Lock

A 4 by 4 ft lift for ceilings up to 10 ft with a manual lock as a second hold, 16 sq ft, $190.

Deck and load
4 by 4 ft, 16 sq ft (per the Amazon listing); rated load not in the bullets
Drive and lock
Lift system; additional manual lock (per the Amazon listing)
Mounting
Ceilings up to 10 ft (per the Amazon listing)
Maker
Unbranded

Pros

  • A lock besides the winch
  • Sized to 8 to 10 ft ceilings
  • $190

Cons

  • Rated load not in the bullets
  • Unbranded
  • Drive type not stated in the bullets

The listing: an overhead storage lift giving 16 square feet for ceilings up to 10 feet, with an additional manual lock as an extra layer of security, a heavy-duty design for seasonal items, and a straightforward installation, at $189.95. Its bullets give no load rating and no drive type. Skip it until the seller states both.

4

Best fixed rack

FLEXIMOUNTS 4x8 ft Overhead Garage Ceiling Storage Rack, 750 lb rated

FLEXIMOUNTS' 4 by 8 ft ceiling rack, rated 750 lb and tested to 1,200, on long brackets attached to two studs each with six vertical posts, for joist spacing of 24 in or less, $146.

Deck and load
4 by 8 ft; 750 lb rated, 1,200 lb tested (per the Amazon listing)
Drive and lock
Fixed; no lift
Mounting
Long ceiling brackets attached to 2 studs each; 6 vertical posts; fits joist spacing of 24 in or less (per the Amazon listing)
Maker
FLEXIMOUNTS; integrated frame and wire deck, M8 screws (listing)

Pros

  • 750 lb rated, stated
  • Joist spacing stated
  • $146

Cons

  • A ladder every time
  • Height fixed at installation
  • Two studs per bracket is the requirement, not an option

FLEXIMOUNTS' listing: a 4 by 8-foot overhead rack rated 750 pounds and load-tested at 1.6 times to 1,200, long ceiling brackets designed to attach to two studs each with six vertical posts, an integrated frame and wire deck, M8 screws, an installation template, and a fit for joist spacing of 24 inches or less (with a note for wider spacing), at $145.99. Skip it if you want the platform to come down to you.

How we chose

Ceiling storage lifts and racks sold in the US, judged on deck size, rated and tested load as the listing distinguishes them, drive (crank, drill), locks, mounting and joist requirements stated, and price (October 9, 2026), from their Amazon listings.

Every pick in one table

SystemDeckRated loadTested loadDriveLockPrice
FLEXIMOUNTS GL1 lift4 x 4 ftNot in bullets (retailers: 300 lb)600 lbCrank or drillDouble rope$190
FLEXIMOUNTS 4x4 lift (second listing)4 x 4 ftNot in bullets600 lbCrank or drillDouble rope$190
FERO 4x8 lift4 x 8 ft325 lbNot statedDrillSafety lock$350
4x4 lift, 8 to 10 ft ceilings4 x 4 ftNot statedNot statedNot statedManual lock$190
FLEXIMOUNTS 4x8 rack4 x 8 ft750 lb1,200 lbFixedn/a$146

Rated and tested

FLEXIMOUNTS' fixed rack states both: 750 pounds rated, 1,200 tested. Its GL1 lift states only the test figure in its bullets, 600 pounds, and retailers quote 300 as the working load; FERO states 325 rated. Load the platform to the rated figure and read it in the manual, because a lift's cables, winch and lock carry the load every time it moves and the test is a static one.

The ceiling

Every one of these hangs from joists through lag screws, and the listings say so in different detail: FLEXIMOUNTS' rack wants two studs per bracket and joists at 24 inches or less; the lifts' manuals give their own spacing. A finished ceiling hides the joists, a trussed roof has chords that are not joists, and a garage ceiling that is also a bedroom floor has its own rules; a stud finder and the manual's template are the start, and a contractor is the answer when the ceiling is not what the manual assumes. What the platform weighs plus its rated load is what the fasteners hold.

Lift or rack

A lift comes down to you and takes the space over the car's hood as it travels; the platform has to clear the car at rest and the door track in motion. A rack stays up, holds twice the load, costs less and needs a ladder. Over a lift bay, a four-post already uses the ceiling; a storage lift goes over the other car.

What to skip

Skip a used rack until you have checked its model: SafeRacks and Monsterrax racks sold from September to December 2021 and Fleximounts' GL44B were recalled in 2022 because they could fall, and the recall checker lists both with two strap-hoist recalls. Skip loading past the rated figure, which for the FLEXIMOUNTS lift is in the manual and not the bullets. Skip mounting into drywall, trusses the manual does not cover, or joists at a spacing the manual excludes. Skip a lift whose platform meets the door track. And skip standing under it while it moves, which the makers' manuals say in their own words.

Frequently asked questions

How much weight can a garage storage lift hold?

FERO's 4x8 lift is rated 325 lb; FLEXIMOUNTS' GL1 is tested to 600 lb by its listing with the rated load in its manual (retailers quote 300 lb); FLEXIMOUNTS' fixed 4x8 rack is rated 750 lb and tested to 1,200. Load to the rating.

How does an overhead storage lift work?

A platform on cables winds up to the ceiling by a hand crank or a drill; FLEXIMOUNTS' GL1 includes the crank and uses two ropes, FERO's and the 4x4 lift add a lock as a second hold. The platform travels through the space above the car's hood.

What joist spacing do ceiling racks need?

FLEXIMOUNTS' fixed rack states joists at 24 inches or less with brackets attached to two studs each; the lifts' manuals give their own. The joists, not the rack, carry the load.

Can I mount a storage lift to roof trusses?

Only where the manual says so; truss chords are not joists and a trussed roof may need blocking a contractor installs. The listings here do not address trusses in their bullets.

Storage lift or fixed rack?

A lift (FLEXIMOUNTS GL1 $190, FERO $350) comes down to you and holds 300 to 325 lb; a fixed rack (FLEXIMOUNTS 4x8 $146) holds 750 lb and needs a ladder. Over a car, the lift must clear the hood and the door track.

Is a garage storage lift a car lift?

No. It is a cable platform for bins and gear, not a vehicle lift, and ALI certification and the lift manuals on this site do not apply to it. Its load limit is the rating in its manual and the joists it hangs from.

Sources

  1. FLEXIMOUNTS, FLEXIMOUNTS
  2. Lift Certification FAQ (what ALI certification covers), Automotive Lift Institute

Cover photo: Test fitting of my car in my garage by simonov, CC BY-SA 2.0, via Flickr. Cropped.

Share this article

Shop EquipmentOverhead StorageGarage Storage LiftShop EquipmentFLEXIMOUNTSCeiling Rack