Skip to content
A white SUV raised on a drive-on runway lift in a service bay
Buying guideCar Lifts

Best 4-Post Car Lifts for a Home Garage (2026): Storage, Service and What Fits

By Garage Equipment ReviewPublished 9 min readHow we research

Affiliate disclosure: product links on this page go to Amazon, or to the maker's own store for brands that sell only direct. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you; a link to a maker's store earns us nothing. No retailer or brand sees our picks before they are published or has any say in them. How we choose.

A four-post lift is a parking space in the air that also does oil changes, exhaust and inspection with the wheels on, and it asks less of the garage than a two-post: no anchors (every lift here is freestanding, most on casters), 110 V on all but one, and columns of 83 to 94 inches that fit under an 8-foot ceiling. What it asks for is length: 175 to 207 inches with ramps, which is the depth of a bay. The BendPak HD-9 ($6,095) is the pick for a published spec table and 9,000 pounds; the Atlas Garage Pro 8000 ($3,399 at a dealer, $3,799 on Amazon) ships with casters, jack tray, ramps and chocks; its EXT version ($4,199) lifts 12 inches higher; the APlusLift HW-8S ($3,099) and 8SXLT ($3,299) state a 3-year warranty; and the KATOOL 11,000 lb ($3,788), KT-4H950 9,500 lb ($3,359), KT-4H850 8,500 lb ($2,989), KATOOL 8,500 lb ($2,888) and an 8,500 lb extra-tall-and-wide import ($2,999) fill out the Amazon range. Every pick lists its height and length so the bay can be measured against it; none is called safe, and the ALI page says which makers state certification (on four-posts, none in the text, though ALI's directory lists the BendPak HD-9).

Our top picks at a glance

  1. 1. Best overall

    BendPak HD-9 Four-Post Lift, 9,000 lb (88 in overall, 70 in rise)

    Capacity and lifting height: 9,000 lb; rise 70 in; max lifting height 75 in; runway lowered 5 in (BendPak) · Columns and length: 88 in overall height; 200.5 in overall length (174 outside); runways 158.25 by 19 in; width 110.25 in; drive-thru 86.5 in (BendPak) · Power and included: 2 HP, 208 to 230 V, 60 Hz, 1 Ph; caster kit optional (BendPak)

  2. 2. Best complete package

    Atlas Garage Pro 8000 Portable Four-Post Lift, 8,000 lb, 110 V, casters included

    Capacity and lifting height: 8,000 lb; 72 in to the top of the runway, 67 in clearance under (dealer) · Columns and length: Columns 83 in; runways 165.75 by 21.5 in (18.75 driving surface); 206.75 in overall with ramp; 115 in wide with motor (dealer) · Power and included: 110 V, 30 A breaker required; caster kit, jack tray, 4 drip trays, steel ramps, 4 wheel stops, 2 chocks (dealer; Amazon listing)

  3. 3. Best for a tall second car

    Atlas Garage Pro 8000 EXT Extra-Tall Portable Four-Post Lift, 8,000 lb

    Capacity and lifting height: 8,000 lb; 84.25 in to the top of the runway (dealer figures via search) · Columns and length: Columns 98.5 in; runways 165.75 in (dealer figures) · Power and included: Caster kit, steel jack tray, four drip trays, steel ramps, single-point lock release (per the Amazon listing)

  4. 4. Best stated warranty

    APlusLift HW-8S 8,000 lb Four-Post Storage and Service Lift, 110 V, 3-year warranty

    Capacity and lifting height: 8,000 lb; 72 in lifting height (per the Amazon listing) · Columns and length: 84 in overall height; 175 in long, 106 wide; 93 in drive-through (per the Amazon listing) · Power and included: 110 V 1.5 HP; free caster kit, jack tray, drip trays, removable aluminium ramps, power cord (per the Amazon listing)

  5. 5. Best extra-tall, long and wide under $3,500

    APlusLift 8SXLT 8,000 lb Extra Tall, Long and Wide Four-Post Lift, 110 V

    Capacity and lifting height: 8,000 lb; 82 in lifting height (per the Amazon listing) · Columns and length: 94 in overall height; 190 in long, 112 wide; 99 in drive-through (per the Amazon listing) · Power and included: 110 V 1.5 HP; caster kit, jack tray, drip trays, aluminium ramps, power cord (per the Amazon listing)

  6. 6. Highest capacity

    KATOOL 11,000 lb Four-Post Lift, 84.5 in lifting height, 110 or 220 V

    Capacity and lifting height: 11,000 lb; max lifting height 84.5 in (per the Amazon listing) · Columns and length: Not stated in the bullets; described as extra tall, long and wide · Power and included: 110 V 60 Hz 1 Ph standard, 220 V optional, 3 HP; caster kit and rolling jacks optional (per the Amazon listing)

  7. 7. Best 9,500 lb package

    KT-4H950 9,500 lb Four-Post Lift, 110 V 3 HP, with casters and aluminium ramps

    Capacity and lifting height: 9,500 lb; 84.5 in lift height (per the Amazon listing) · Columns and length: Not stated in the bullets · Power and included: 110 V, 3 HP; casters, aluminium ramps, jack tray, drip trays (per the Amazon listing)

  8. 8. Cheapest with casters included

    KATOOL 8,500 lb Portable Four-Post Lift with Casters, 70.87 in lifting height

    Capacity and lifting height: 8,500 lb; max lifting height 70.87 in (per the Amazon listing) · Columns and length: Not stated in the bullets · Power and included: 110 V 60 Hz 1 Ph; caster kit included (per the Amazon listing)

1

Best overall

BendPak HD-9 Four-Post Lift, 9,000 lb (88 in overall, 70 in rise)

9,000 lb, 70 in rise, 88 in columns, 174 in outside length (200.5 overall), 110.25 in wide, 2 HP 208 to 230 V, freestanding with an optional caster kit, $6,095.

Capacity and lifting height
9,000 lb; rise 70 in; max lifting height 75 in; runway lowered 5 in (BendPak)
Columns and length
88 in overall height; 200.5 in overall length (174 outside); runways 158.25 by 19 in; width 110.25 in; drive-thru 86.5 in (BendPak)
Power and included
2 HP, 208 to 230 V, 60 Hz, 1 Ph; caster kit optional (BendPak)
ALI and warranty
Not stated in the page text, but listed in ALI's directory (HD-9, certification date Aug 8, 2018); BendPak warranty page (5-2-1)

Pros

  • Full BendPak spec table and 1,616 lb of steel
  • Low 5 in runways (the description says 4.5)
  • Freestanding; rolls with the caster kit

Cons

  • $6,095 before the caster kit, jack and freight
  • 208 to 230 V, not 110
  • Certification not stated in the text

BendPak lists the HD-9 at 9,000 pounds, 70 inches of rise, 75 inches maximum lifting height, 5-inch runways (4.5 in the description), 88 inches overall, 200.5 inches overall length with 174 outside, 158.25 by 19-inch runways, 35 to 41 inches between runways, 110.25 inches wide, 86.5 inches of drive-through, a 2 HP 208 to 230 V single-phase unit, 45 dB and 1,616 pounds shipping by flatbed with forklift offload, at $6,095; the caster kit is an accessory and the page links to its concrete page without stating a thickness. It is the four-post with the most published and the most steel. Skip it if you want 110 V or a complete package in the box.

2

Best complete package

Atlas Garage Pro 8000 Portable Four-Post Lift, 8,000 lb, 110 V, casters included

8,000 lb, 72 in to the runway top, 83 in columns, 165.75 in runways, 206.75 in with ramp, 110 V with a 30 A breaker, casters, jack tray, drip trays, ramps, stops and chocks in the box; $3,399 at a dealer, $3,799 on Amazon.

Capacity and lifting height
8,000 lb; 72 in to the top of the runway, 67 in clearance under (dealer)
Columns and length
Columns 83 in; runways 165.75 by 21.5 in (18.75 driving surface); 206.75 in overall with ramp; 115 in wide with motor (dealer)
Power and included
110 V, 30 A breaker required; caster kit, jack tray, 4 drip trays, steel ramps, 4 wheel stops, 2 chocks (dealer; Amazon listing)
ALI and warranty
Dealer: no third-party listing published; not in ALI's directory; 2 years structural, 1 year hydraulic, parts only

Pros

  • Everything in the box, casters included
  • 83 in columns
  • 110 V

Cons

  • 206.75 in with the ramp
  • Dealer flags two different published drive-through widths
  • No certification claimed

The Amazon listing (Atlas Garage Pro 8000, $3,799) describes an 8,000-pound free-standing lift with an included polyurethane caster kit, a double-lock system and lock ladder, diamond-plate runways, a steel jack tray, four drip trays, steel ramps, four wheel stops and two chocks, on a 110 V motor with a 30 A breaker; the dealer listing ($3,399) adds 72 inches to the runway top, 67 under, 83-inch columns, 165.75-inch runways, 206.75 inches overall, 115 inches wide, 1,800 pounds shipping and a 2-year structural, 1-year hydraulic parts-only warranty, and says Atlas publishes no third-party safety listing and that its sources give two drive-through widths. Skip it if the bay is under 17 feet 3 inches deep with the ramp on.

3

Best for a tall second car

Atlas Garage Pro 8000 EXT Extra-Tall Portable Four-Post Lift, 8,000 lb

The extra-tall Garage Pro: 84.25 in to the runway top on 98.5 in columns by dealer figures, same 8,000 lb and package, $4,199 on Amazon.

Capacity and lifting height
8,000 lb; 84.25 in to the top of the runway (dealer figures via search)
Columns and length
Columns 98.5 in; runways 165.75 in (dealer figures)
Power and included
Caster kit, steel jack tray, four drip trays, steel ramps, single-point lock release (per the Amazon listing)
ALI and warranty
Not stated; not in ALI's directory; Atlas warranty per dealer, 2 years structural, 1 year hydraulic

Pros

  • A foot more under the runway for an SUV below
  • Same complete package
  • Free freight to a business address (listing)

Cons

  • 98.5 in columns need a 9-foot ceiling before the top car is counted
  • $400 over the standard
  • Figures dealer-transcribed

The Amazon listing gives the Garage Pro 8000 EXT as the extra-tall 8,000-pound version with diamond-plate runways, single-point lock release, lock ladder, double-lock system, steel ramps, caster kit, steel jack tray and four drip trays, at $4,199 with free freight to a business address; dealer figures put the runway top at 84.25 inches on 98.5-inch columns with 165.75-inch runways. Skip it under a 9-foot ceiling.

4

Best stated warranty

APlusLift HW-8S 8,000 lb Four-Post Storage and Service Lift, 110 V, 3-year warranty

8,000 lb, 72 in lifting height, 84 in overall, 175 by 106 in, 93 in drive-through, 110 V 1.5 HP, casters, jack tray, drip trays and aluminium ramps, 3-year warranty, $3,099.

Capacity and lifting height
8,000 lb; 72 in lifting height (per the Amazon listing)
Columns and length
84 in overall height; 175 in long, 106 wide; 93 in drive-through (per the Amazon listing)
Power and included
110 V 1.5 HP; free caster kit, jack tray, drip trays, removable aluminium ramps, power cord (per the Amazon listing)
ALI and warranty
CE claimed, tested 115 percent dynamic and 150 percent static (listing); 3-year warranty (listing); not in ALI's directory

Pros

  • 3 years, stated
  • Shortest overall length here at 175 in
  • Aluminium ramps

Cons

  • CE is not ALI
  • Listing figures only
  • Freight

APlusLift's listing: 8,000 pounds, 72-inch lifting height, 93-inch drive-through, 175 by 106 by 84 inches, a 110 V 1.5 HP unit, a free caster kit, jack tray, drip trays, removable aluminium ramps and power cord, CE-certified structure and hydraulics, and a 3-year warranty, at $3,099. Skip it if 72 inches of lift is not enough for what parks underneath.

5

Best extra-tall, long and wide under $3,500

APlusLift 8SXLT 8,000 lb Extra Tall, Long and Wide Four-Post Lift, 110 V

APlusLift's 8,000 lb extra-tall version: 82 in lifting height, 99 in drive-through, 190 by 112 by 94 in, 110 V, same package and 3-year warranty, $3,299.

Capacity and lifting height
8,000 lb; 82 in lifting height (per the Amazon listing)
Columns and length
94 in overall height; 190 in long, 112 wide; 99 in drive-through (per the Amazon listing)
Power and included
110 V 1.5 HP; caster kit, jack tray, drip trays, aluminium ramps, power cord (per the Amazon listing)
ALI and warranty
CE claimed; 3-year warranty (listing); not in ALI's directory

Pros

  • 99 in between the columns for a wide truck
  • 82 in of lift
  • 3 years

Cons

  • 94 in columns
  • 190 in long
  • CE is not ALI

APlusLift's listing: 8,000 pounds, 82-inch lifting height, 99-inch drive-through, 190 by 112 by 94 inches, 110 V 1.5 HP, the same caster, tray, ramp and cord package, CE testing and a 3-year warranty, at $3,299. Skip it under an 8-foot ceiling.

6

Highest capacity

KATOOL 11,000 lb Four-Post Lift, 84.5 in lifting height, 110 or 220 V

KATOOL's 11,000 lb four-post with an 84.5 in maximum lifting height, four locking points with primary and secondary locks, 110 or 220 V, 3 HP; casters and rolling jacks are extra; $3,788.

Capacity and lifting height
11,000 lb; max lifting height 84.5 in (per the Amazon listing)
Columns and length
Not stated in the bullets; described as extra tall, long and wide
Power and included
110 V 60 Hz 1 Ph standard, 220 V optional, 3 HP; caster kit and rolling jacks optional (per the Amazon listing)
ALI and warranty
Not stated; brand not in ALI's directory

Pros

  • 11,000 lb for a heavy truck
  • Four locking points, each with primary and secondary locks (listing)
  • Dual voltage

Cons

  • Casters and jacks not included
  • Dimensions not in the bullets
  • Buyer unloads the freight

KATOOL's listing: 11,000 pounds, 84.5 inches of maximum lifting height, four mechanical locking points each with a primary and secondary lock controlled from one release, a 3 HP unit in 110 V standard or 220 V optional, and an optional caster kit and rolling jacks, at $3,788, with forklift unloading the buyer's job. Skip it if you need the casters in the price; the Atlas and APlusLift include them.

7

Best 9,500 lb package

KT-4H950 9,500 lb Four-Post Lift, 110 V 3 HP, with casters and aluminium ramps

The KT-4H950: 9,500 lb, 84.5 in lift in 50 seconds, 110 V 3 HP, casters, aluminium ramps, jack tray and drip trays included, $3,359.

Capacity and lifting height
9,500 lb; 84.5 in lift height (per the Amazon listing)
Columns and length
Not stated in the bullets
Power and included
110 V, 3 HP; casters, aluminium ramps, jack tray, drip trays (per the Amazon listing)
ALI and warranty
Not stated; brand not in ALI's directory

Pros

  • Complete package at 9,500 lb
  • 84.5 in of lift
  • 110 V

Cons

  • No dimensions in the bullets
  • Ships in 6 to 7 days
  • No certification stated

The listing: 9,500 pounds, an 84.5-inch lift height reached in 50 seconds, 110 V 3 HP, casters, lightweight aluminium ramps, jack tray and drip trays, at $3,359. The KT-4H850 ($2,989) is the 8,500-pound version with casters, single-point release and 110 or 220 V. Skip either until the seller gives you the overall length and column height in writing.

8

Cheapest with casters included

KATOOL 8,500 lb Portable Four-Post Lift with Casters, 70.87 in lifting height

KATOOL's 8,500 lb four-post with casters in the box, 70.87 in lifting height, 110 V, four dual-lock columns, $2,888.

Capacity and lifting height
8,500 lb; max lifting height 70.87 in (per the Amazon listing)
Columns and length
Not stated in the bullets
Power and included
110 V 60 Hz 1 Ph; caster kit included (per the Amazon listing)
ALI and warranty
Not stated; brand not in ALI's directory

Pros

  • $2,888 with casters
  • 110 V
  • Dual locks on each column (listing)

Cons

  • No dimensions in the bullets
  • Ramps and jack tray not stated
  • No certification stated

KATOOL's listing: 8,500 pounds, four mechanical locking devices with primary and secondary locks, an included caster kit, 110 V single-phase power and a 70.87-inch maximum lifting height, at $2,888. An unbranded 8,500-pound extra-tall-and-wide import ($2,999) lists Q345 steel, 70.8 inches, a 110 V motor with 75 seconds up and 40 down, 115 percent testing and a 1-year parts warranty. Skip both without the dimensions.

How we chose

Four-post lifts sold to home garages in the US, judged on capacity, lifting height, column height, runway and overall length, width and drive-through, power, what ships in the box (casters, ramps, jack tray, drip trays), certification statement, warranty and price (October 9, 2026). BendPak's figures from its page; Atlas's from its dealer and Amazon listings; the rest from Amazon listings, which for several picks give capacity and lift height and no dimensions, a gap we flag rather than fill.

Every pick against the garage

LiftCapacityLift height (in)Column height (in)Overall length (in)PowerCastersPrice
BendPak HD-99,00070 (75 max)88200.5 (174 outside)208 to 230 VOptional$6,095
Atlas Garage Pro 80008,00072 to runway top83206.75 with ramp110 V, 30 A breakerIncluded$3,399 to $3,799
Atlas Garage Pro 8000 EXT8,00084.2598.5About the same runways110 VIncluded$4,199
APlusLift HW-8S8,0007284175110 V 1.5 HPIncluded$3,099
APlusLift 8SXLT8,0008294190110 V 1.5 HPIncluded$3,299
KATOOL 11,00011,00084.5Not statedNot stated110 or 220 V, 3 HPOptional$3,788
KT-4H9509,50084.5Not statedNot stated110 V, 3 HPIncluded$3,359
KT-4H8508,500Not statedNot statedNot stated110 or 220 V, 3 HPIncluded$2,989
KATOOL 8,5008,50070.87Not statedNot stated110 VIncluded$2,888

The ceiling on a four-post

The columns fit under 8 feet on most of these, but the car on top rises with its wheels on the runway, so the roof is at runway height plus the lift plus the car. An 8-foot ceiling over a 60-inch car on 5-inch runways leaves about 30 inches of lift (96 minus 60 minus 5 minus a 1-inch margin) before the roof touches, which is enough to park a low car underneath and not enough to stand. The calculator runs it; enter the runway height as the pad.

Length and width

Overall length with ramps is the figure to put against the bay with the door closed: 175 inches for the HW-8S, 190 for the 8SXLT, 200.5 for the HD-9, 206.75 for the Garage Pro 8000. Width is 106 to 115 inches. A standard single bay is about 12 feet wide and 20 to 24 deep, so the lift fits in length and leaves one door's width beside it. The listings that give no dimensions are the ones to get a drawing from before ordering.

Anchors, slab and power

None of these anchors by its page or listing; BendPak calls the HD-9 freestanding, and the casters that ship with the Atlas, APlusLift and KATOOL lifts are the point. The slab still carries 1,600 to 1,800 pounds of lift plus the car on four feet, and BendPak's concrete page applies to its lift; a cracked or heaved slab is not a four-post floor either. Power: 110 V on everything but the HD-9 (208 to 230 V), with Atlas's listing requiring a 30 A breaker and every manual we have read requiring a licensed electrician (the electrical guide).

Wheels off on a four-post

Needs a bridge jack that rolls on the runways and lifts the car off them; the jack trays included with the Atlas, APlusLift and KT lifts are where a bottle jack sits, and BendPak and KATOOL sell rolling jacks separately. If most of your work is wheels-off, the two-post versus four-post comparison is the page to read before this one.

What to skip

Skip any four-post without its overall length and column height in writing. Skip a four-post for a bay under 15 feet deep. Skip reading CE as ALI certification; no four-post here states ALI certification in its text, and only the BendPak HD-9 is in ALI's directory. And skip parking a car over a car until the lift has been through its first full-travel test on the locks, which the installation guide describes.

Frequently asked questions

Does a 4-post lift need to be anchored?

None of the lifts here anchors by its page or listing: BendPak calls the HD-9 freestanding, and the Atlas, APlusLift and KATOOL lifts ship with or offer caster kits. The slab still has to be sound.

What ceiling height do I need for a 4-post lift?

Columns are 83 to 98.5 inches on the lifts here, so most fit under 8 feet. The car on top rises with its wheels on the runway, so a 60-inch car under a 96-inch ceiling gets about 30 inches of lift before the roof touches; the calculator does the arithmetic.

How long is a 4-post lift?

175 inches (APlusLift HW-8S) to 206.75 inches with the ramp (Atlas Garage Pro 8000); the BendPak HD-9 is 200.5 overall and 174 outside. Measure the bay with the door closed.

Can I run a 4-post lift on 110 volts?

The Atlas, APlusLift and KATOOL lifts list 110 V units (Atlas requires a 30 A breaker by its listing; KATOOL offers 220 V); the BendPak HD-9 is 208 to 230 V. Every maker's manual we read requires a licensed electrician.

Which 4-post lift is ALI certified?

Only the BendPak HD-9 is in ALI's directory (9,000 lb, certification date August 8, 2018, searched October 12, 2026), although its page text does not say so. The Atlas Garage Pro 8000 and EXT, the APlusLift HW-8S and 8SXLT and the KATOOL lifts are not listed, and the CE claims on the Amazon listings are a European marking.

Can I take the wheels off on a 4-post lift?

With a bridge jack rolling on the runways that lifts the car off them. The included jack trays hold a bottle jack; BendPak and KATOOL sell rolling jacks separately. A two-post is the wheels-off lift.

Sources

  1. BendPak HD-9 Four-Post Lift (product page), BendPak
  2. Concrete Floor Requirements, BendPak
  3. Atlas Garage Pro 8000 (dealer listing), Mechanic Superstore
  4. Atlas Garage Pro 8000 EXT (dealer listing), Mechanic Superstore
  5. Lift Certification FAQ, Automotive Lift Institute

Cover photo: Kyiv 2020-02-07 by Zinnsoldat, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons. Cropped.

Share this article

Car Lifts4-Post LiftCar LiftsStorage LiftBendPakAtlas